Navigation:

+ Current entry
+ Older entries
+ Cast
+ Profile
+ Notes
+ Guestbook
+ Email
+ Rings
+ Pictures
+ Diaryland

Last 5 entries:

+ MySpace
+ Where is your heart?
+ In your face, Underwood
+ So excited!
+ Greek Gods Never Die
A Dismal Day
Friday, Dec. 13, 2002

It's such a dismal day today. I love it. I can't help but like the rainy-ness. The only thing I don't like about it is that I can't enjoy it. I would have given anything to have stayed home today and snoozed while listening to the pitter patter on my roof. But noooooo... I had to get up and actually go out in the rain for school. I don't like being rained on. At least I didn't blow dry my hair this morning, then I'd be really mad.

I was up at all hours last night finishing my 40 page Anatomy outline, so I didn't get much sleep. Not to mention I took Sudafed (or something of the sort) before I went to bed last night, which made me drowsy, which in turn made me very groggy this morning. After I finally forced myself out of bed, I picked up Brian (I've been giving him a ride because his truck broke down a few days ago) and we went to school. We arrived about 5 minutes before school started, so I didn't have time to go to my locker, I just went straight to my portable. I wish all my classes were inside the actual school. Portables suck. And you have to walk waaaaay out in the nasty weather to get to them. By the time you're at your class you're drenched, even if it's only drizzling outside, and stuck with the feeling of wet jeans for the rest of the day. Yuck.

I've been having some strange dreams lately. Two nights ago I had a dream about Harlan (if you're reading this, I miss you... come back to us!). He kept telling me how pretty I was, but that I needed to lose weight. He was very critical of my body. *self-esteem drops*

Then last night, I dreamed about a different guy that I work with (not naming any names here). He was madly in love with me in the dream, and he kept trying to hit on me. It was weird. And he had very long hair, even though his hair is short in real life. I don't get it. Don't dreams symbolize things? I want to get a book on what dreams mean. A friend of mine used to have one... maybe I might borrow it.

Yesterday I filled out my application to the Florida Bright Futures Scholarship (the 75% one). I can't believe that I only have one semester of high school left, then it's off to college. It still hasn't hit me. I'm actually very scared. I would never do this, but the thought of "taking a year off" sounds so nice right now. But I can't do that. I'd look like such a slacker. At least that's how I look at kids who decie to take breaks like that. Why not just get it all over with? I was even considering summer sessions for a while, but then I decided I needed a vacation before starting something as significant as college. One can't rush these things.

I was looking forward to my winter break very much (and I still am in some aspects) but yesterday one of my employers informed me that she decided to schedule me from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. practically every day of my break (with a couple days off in between... woohoo...). I can't believe I did this, but I actually stood up for myself. I bluntly said to her "I'm not going to work that much over my break. I just can't do it." She looked like the world was coming to an end or something. She kept saying "Oh, but you're the only one who can do it... please?" and unfortunately, I said yes. The thing is, Jamie (another tech that normally doesn't work in the pharmacy, she just cashiers) can't do it for some reason, and Hiyas (yet another tech who only works on Fridays) is having her wisdom teeth out or something and can't do it, either. So I HAVE to do it. I'm starting to get pissed because here I am, at my lowly salary of $7.10, yet I'm doing pharmacy work. That's all I do anymore. I haven't worked Guest Service (which I love) in the longest time (well, at least I haven't had to cashier...), and all I do is pharmacy, pharmacy, pharmacy. I'm demanding at least $8 at my two year review (which is in April). I'll get it, too. You just watch.

Time flies when you're writing. I started writing this entry at 9:45 a.m., and it's almost 10:30 a.m. (hey, almost time to go home... but then I have to be at work at 1:00 p.m., so it's pretty much a lose-lose situation...). But about the writing thing, I love it so much. I know that's random, but I really enjoy writing. Last year I won $100 in a short-story contest held by the Jacksonville Public Library, so I suppose I'm okay at it. That's a major I'm considering, literature or something of the sort. I'd like to work at a newspaper one day, or a magazine. As of right now, though, I'm concentrating on taking over the Target Corporation...

Seriously, I was talking about it with Megan and Val today. Just think, if I stay with Target throughout my entire college career, I'll probably achieve some kind of executive position by then. I'll be about 22-years-old. I might be a Cashier Supervisor or something. Maybe a Team Leader of a certain department. I don't know. It's a nice thought. And I mean, as much as they use me and abuse me at Target, I do love that job. Hopefully all this pharmacy crap will be worth it in the long run.

Previous + Next