Navigation:

+ Current entry
+ Older entries
+ Cast
+ Profile
+ Notes
+ Guestbook
+ Email
+ Rings
+ Pictures
+ Diaryland

Last 5 entries:

+ MySpace
+ Where is your heart?
+ In your face, Underwood
+ So excited!
+ Greek Gods Never Die
A Beauty, But a Funny Girl
Tuesday, Jan. 07, 2003

This is going to sound kind of silly, but sometimes I remind myself so much of Belle from Beauty and the Beast. You know how all the people who live in the town think she's so odd because she reads? Well, when I get bored in class, I read, and I get funny looks from people. I try not to let it bother me. And then today in my English class I got really excited because we were talking about The Hobbit, LOTR, and The Chronicles of Narnia (all of which are on our required book list... yes!), but everyone around me was either sleeping or daydreaming. I just don't understand it. I heard a few comments from the kids who were actually listening to the teacher, such as "I don't like LOTR, the movie is too long," and lots of "Ugh..." and sighs of boredom! How could stuff like that bore you? These people kill me sometimes.

Oh, and another thing about me being like Belle. In the opening song of B&tB, she sings of wanting "more than this provincial life." She's in a place where everything's always the same and nothing new and exciting ever happens. That's how I feel when I'm at school, and when I'm at work. It's always the same people doing the same things. Yargh! I can't stand it sometimes. I wish I could stumble upon a beast living in a castle, fall in love with him, and break the spell that would turn him into a prince... Why can't my life be like a fairy tale?

I not only want my life to be a fairy tale, but a musical! I can remember having conversations with Devon about how great it would be if life were a musical. Can you imagine? I'd do a new number every morning walking down the hallway at school, something of "...Baby One More Time" persuasion. Heh heh. That'd be great. But enough of my wishes and reveries...

School was good today. I missed most of first period because they were issuing our books. Since our last names are close in the alphabet, Allie and I got to do it at the same time. She isn't going to try to switch into my Economics class because she has a pretty good schedule right now (Integrated III, Student Aid, Economics, and Art). At least we have World Religions together next quarter when Economics is over.

As I already mentioned before, in English class we went over some of the books on the required reading list. We don't have to read all of the books, just three, but there are a lot to choose from. At the end of the semester, we write our term paper on one of the three books we've read. I already know I'm going to read way more than three, because there are so many good ones to choose from! I was thinking, though, if I finish TTT and then read ROTK, I can do my term paper on the LOTR Trilogy! That would be so great, and it wouldn't even be like work. So that's my plan as of right now. I'm also going to start on The Chronicles of Narnia. I love those stories, although I have never read any of the books, I only saw the made-for-TV movies when I was little. I'm looking forward to reading them.

Tomorrow we're going to start reading Beowulf. I hope it's good. Today we did a fun class assignment where we got into groups (Val was my partner) and we used the names of the characters from the poem and put them into a story. As of right now, we don't know anything about Beowulf except for the characters and who they are, so everything else was made up. Val and I put the characters from Beowulf into our own interesting version of Exit Wounds. Muahahaha.

Well, now I'm off to surf LOTR sites. I found a new LOTR name generator, and this one specifically does Elvish names. Gotta love it. Oh, and I stumbled upon a really funny LOTR site, The Spoof of the Rings. It's quite funny. I especially like the quizzes and games! Ta ta!



Previous + Next