Navigation:

+ Current entry
+ Older entries
+ Cast
+ Profile
+ Notes
+ Guestbook
+ Email
+ Rings
+ Pictures
+ Diaryland

Last 5 entries:

+ MySpace
+ Where is your heart?
+ In your face, Underwood
+ So excited!
+ Greek Gods Never Die
In Her Defense
Wednesday, May. 14, 2003

Now, some of you out there may not like this, but I'm going to play attorney here and defend my life-long bestest friend in the entire world. If you haven't already noticed the current dispute going on between these two, I suggest you read their diaries, then come read mine.

The person they are talking about has a rep for being practically perfect in every way, a modern day Mary Poppins if you will. I, along with countless others, disagree. I don't go to school with her anymore, but I have heard stories of numerous occasions where her I'm-better-than-everyone-else side has shown its ugly face. I'm not trying to point fingers. I'm just going on what I've heard, as well as what I know. After all, I did go to school with her from 3rd grade through 10th grade. I was practically her "enemy" at one point... heh. But I'm not here to talk about that.

Some of you may be thinking, "Devon's just jealous." But the funny thing about that is, Devon's not the jealous type, at least when it comes to stuff like this. She has never wanted to be Homecoming Queen, or even be on court. She has never been worried about winning awards at Evening of Excellence, getting a Senior Superlative, or raking in the most dough at Senior Auction. To put it quite bluntly, she could give a rat's ass. This being said, I know this is simply a case of Devon's annoyance at this person's quest to perfection. I mean, so what if Devon wants to write about it in her diary? It's a diary for Christ's sake. That's what it's for.

Yesterday Justin wrote an entry in his sister's defense. I understand how he would be a bit peeved to be reading mean things about his precious, angel sister (*snickers*), especially from a pagan like Devon (*snickers again*), but I don't think he has all the facts. To be quite honest, I don't think he'll ever have all the facts, only because he will never see this "other side" of hers, simply because he is her brother, and she has no reason to show this side to her brother. What has she got to gain in doing that? Nothing.

Here's part of a conversation I had with Devon the other day:

SevenNchik: I've tried to tell him... she is not the angel she appears to be
SevenNchik: esp. to us "unpopulars"
HeyNowGirl4: i'm for rizzle
HeyNowGirl4: but oh well, i dont care
SevenNchik: has she said anything to you
HeyNowGirl4: NO!
HeyNowGirl4: she just tells everyone else about it
HeyNowGirl4: yet I'M the one talking behind her back

An excerpt from Justin's diary:

Get over yourself. You're not that important where everyone who lives their lives trying to please God snubs their noses at you. I know for a fact that neither my sister nor her best friend do this, and they've never said an ill word about anybody that didn't deserve it.

And our response to that was:

SevenNchik: She sure is trying to please God. I'm sure God loves it when people try to be better than everyone else.
HeyNowGirl4: thank you!!!
HeyNowGirl4: go read her entry titled "stupid people" and then come talk to me Justin. gah.

And I suggest all of you go read it as well. It puts a lot of things in perspective, and tells you a lot about this person that you otherwise might not know. One of the things she says in it is, "I... sound like a snob but it's just part of my personality. I'll have to work on it." She admits it. So there, ha! I rest my case.

"Striving for excellence motivates you; striving for perfection is demoralizing."



Previous + Next