Navigation:

+ Current entry
+ Older entries
+ Cast
+ Profile
+ Notes
+ Guestbook
+ Email
+ Rings
+ Pictures
+ Diaryland

Last 5 entries:

+ MySpace
+ Where is your heart?
+ In your face, Underwood
+ So excited!
+ Greek Gods Never Die
Vacation
Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2003

I'm baaaaack. Miss me? I know you did. Well, Orlando was... interesting. Started out bad, but progressively got better. I woke up at 8:00 a.m. on Saturday and went to my dad's house because he wanted to leave early. When I got there, though, no one was ready. He wanted to mow the lawn, and Toni and Danielle needed to get ready. So here I am, ready for the drive to O-Town, and I have to wait on all three of them for about 2 hours in his house which had no AC. Yes, it was hell. But eventually we hit the road and were on our way.

We checked in at our hotel, and then drove around a bit. We stopped at a strip mall and I bought a few things at The Gap. After that we went to Tu Tu Tango for dinner. Danielle wanted to go there because she had been before and thought it was an awesome restaurant. Bad thing was, she had been during the daytimme. We arrived around 9:00 p.m. It was almost like a mini club. Tons of people dressed to kill, dancing, drinking and having a great time. I would have loved it if I were there with my friends, but I was there with my family (did I just refer to Toni and Danielle as my family?). It wasn't pleasant. In fact, we left early because Toni couldn't handle the loud music and she was getting over heated. Understandable, her being pregnant and all.

The next day we went driving around looking at hotels. Dad wasn't exactly satisfied with our hotel, and wanted to check out some other ones just in case. You see, our room was called a Cinema Suite because it had this movie room with surround sound and a big 60" television. When we got there, though, the room was very small, and there were two recliners crammed in there along with the tv, so we all couldn't fit. Toni, Danielle and I didn't think it was that big of a deal, but Dad did. So, we went hotel shopping on our vacation. Fun eh? And we ended up staying at our original hotel.

That night made up for the shitty beginning of our trip. We went to Arabian Nights. Oh wowwy wow wow it was so great! Horsey horsey horsey. Hehehe, it made me feel like a kid again because I loved horses when I was little, and seeing all the horses run around and do tricks was just lovely. They were so gorgeous, too. I took tons of pictures, but of course only four of them came out. Bah! I mean, yeah, it was dark in there, but I used freaking flash photography! I'm really bummed that the pictures didn't come out, but at least I have the memories.

After Arabian Nights, we rented a movie. To watch in the Cinema Suite. Yes folks, this vacation just gets better and better, doesn't it? I mean, who rents movies on vacation? You're supposed to be so busy out having fun that you don't have time to watch movies. Ahem. Anywhoozle, we rented Catch me if you Can and it was great. Didn't make up for the fact that I was renting movies on vacation, but still good.

The next day we went to Disney's Animal Kingdom. Now, don't get me wrong. I thought the park was great. Animals rock, and I love them bunches. Having said that, let me now say that I was miserable all day. I don't think I've ever been so hot in my life. It was aweful. And Animal Kingdom doesn't have many rides, just mainly nature walks and animals to look at and whatnot, so there weren't many places to go inside and be refreshed by the air conditioner. Most of the gift shops were even located outside, so I was pretty much stuck being hot. I did get some air during "It's Tough to be a Bug" which is a 3D mini movie starring the characters from A Bug's Life.

Before we left the park, we ate at The Rainforest Cafe. It was so cool! It was like a real rainforest inside, and every so often the lights would flicker, sort of like lightning, and all the statues of animals would move and stuff. It was pretty rocksome. We got this awesome dessert there called a Volcano. It was three huge brownies leaning against eachother in the shape of a volcano surrounding ice cream, caramel and hot fudge, topped with whip cream. Yummeh. When the waitors bring it out to you, they have to yell, "Volcanoooooooo!" Hehe.

When we got back to our hotel, Danielle and Toni stayed in, but Dad and I went to return Catch me if you Can and rent some more videos. Before we were leaving, I showed my dad my belly button piercing because I put a a new ring in it and wanted him to see it. Then he made this comment: "You need to lose at least ten pounds. You'd be perfect if you just lost some weight." Yeah. Self esteem dropped to rock bottom. I know I don't have the greatest body, but lately I have been starting to actually like my curvy shape (a lot of that I owe to Cookie, who is a major self esteem booster, seeing as he thinks my "chub" is sexy and he "likes something to hold on to"). But yeah, my dad can be such a jackasss sometimes.

We rented Drumline (my choice) and Joe Dirt and then went back to the hotel. While Dad, Danielle and I were watching Drumline, I thought to myself Wow, it sure has been a while since I've heard my cell phone ring. Then, at that exact moment... it rang. I knew it had to be Cookie, because we have that brain wave thing going on. Hehe. Anywho, he and I talked for a bit, he told me he missed me and loved me, then I went back inside and finished the movie.

The next day we went to The Magic Kingdom. I got to ride Splash Mountain, my all time favorite ride at Disney World, so that made the trip a lot better. We also went to the Tiki Room, but to my dismay they have changed it! Changed the Tiki Room! How DARE they mess with a classic Disney attraction such as the Tiki Room! Now it's called The Tiki Room Under New Management, and Zazu from The Lion King and Iago from Aladdin are the new owners of the Tiki Room. It was horrid. Bah!

I was bummed about the Tiki thing, but went on with the ride riding. I was looking forward to Fantasy of Flight or whatever that airplain ride in Tomorrow Land is called, but guess what? They turned it into a Buzz Lightyear ride. How DARE they! Why are they changing all the old rides? My dad said it was because they didn't apply to children and needed an update. I think they should leave well enough alone. I liked those rides when I was a kid, so today's children should like them too, damnit.

After Magic Kingdom we came back to the hotel and freshened up a bit, and then went to Epcot. Now, I was already upset about them messin' with Tiki Room and Fantasy of Flight, but I got really mad when I found that they changed Imagination. You know, the ride with Figment? Yes, my friends, they had the nerve to change the Figment ride. Ohh, I was livid. Stupid people changing all the good rides making them seem more modern because stupid people couldn't appreciate them the way they originally were, the way Walt Disney wanted them to be, bastards... So yeah. Went to Epcot, ate in Italy, bought an Indonesian bracelet, had a good ol' time.

When I woke up this morning I was more than ready to go home. Yes, a good majority of the trip was a blast, but on the other hand, I didn't get to do a lot of things I would normally have done at Disney because 1) Toni is pregnant and got tired so much that we had to leave everything early, 2) my dad is a jackass, and 3) nothing on this trip was planned and we wasted a lot of time doing nothing. So, what have I learned? Never ever go on a "family" vacation with Dad, Toni and Danielle. Period.

I really am glad to be back. I missed Cookie and Allie and everybody else, but mainly them. Cookie's over visiting at Doug's right now, but he might come get me and take me to his house tonight. Either that, or we'll hang out tomorrow. We can't wait to see eachother, hehe. It was also really good to see Mom. I know I hate her sometimes, but since I was around my asshole father for five days, my mother seems like an angel to me right now. That is, until she started bitching at me about college and how I need to go to the gym more and all this other crap... ugh, sometimes I wish my parents would both just fall off the face of the earth. That was harsh. But I really do feel that way sometimes.

Well, seeing as this entry is entirely too long, I think I'll bring it to an end. Oh, and one more thing. Sorry, Ashley, for not telling you I was leaving. I thought I had mentioned it to you, and I sort of mentioned it in the last entry I wrote. Anywho, sorry you freaked out like that and thought I was dead or something. Heh. Til next time, and as my Love would say, be excellent to eachother.



Previous + Next