Navigation:

+ Current entry
+ Older entries
+ Cast
+ Profile
+ Notes
+ Guestbook
+ Email
+ Rings
+ Pictures
+ Diaryland

Last 5 entries:

+ MySpace
+ Where is your heart?
+ In your face, Underwood
+ So excited!
+ Greek Gods Never Die
We will talk a great deal
Thursday, Jan. 08, 2004

Today was my first day back to college. I really really really didn't want to go back, but I guess it won't be so bad once I get back into a routine. Anywho, here's how my day went...

My first class is Intro to Philosophy. The teacher was cool, and I think the class will be pretty easy. No tests, and only a few short writing assignments. The only thing I'm worried about is the whole class participation dealy. I'm more of a sit-in-the-back-and-say-nothing kind of girl. Not outspoken. Quite shy. But I guess forcing myself to participate in discussions will help me to be more outgoing, so that's good.

Second I have Intro to Lit. I was really looking forward to this class. English and Literature have always been my strong points. But then I met the professor... he's insane. His name is Mark Ari, but he wants us all to call him Ari. I noticed when he walked into the class that he was wearing a fedora (like Cookie's, hehe). Then he took his hat off and said, "This is my hat. You will get to know this hat. The hat never touches the floor." Then he tossed it to someone. He said that he will toss the hat everyday, and each day the third person to catch it has to come up to the front of the class and tell a story. I find this odd and humiliating. But again, it'll help me to be more outgoing...

His weirdness continued. He sat on top of the desk at the front of the classroom and began kicking it, making a beat. Then he slapped his thighs a few times. He then looked up at the class with a crazy grin on his face. As I was reading through his syllabus, I noticed he kept slipping in some odd... guidelines I guess you could say. For example, "It's hard work to haul the lines; bring gloves. And nets for things with feathers." He then mentions that we will talk a great deal. A few paragraphs down it reads, "We will talk a very great deal." Great.

My third class is Intro to Sociology. The professor, Dr. Krista Paulsen, is way cool. It's in a big lecture hall (thank goodness, no more discussion) and there are only 2 exams and 4 short writing assignments. No complaints there.

My fourth and final class is Statistics. Now, I'm no math wiz, and I've heard horror stories about this class, but my nerves were calmed when the professor started talking. She's Chinese (or maybe Korean... I can't distinguish) and has the cutest accent. She explained things really well, and she was soooo organized. Her name is Ping Sa, but she just said we could call her Ping. Hehe. Ping. I was stressing a bit because we need a TI-83 calculator for the class, but luckily the dwarf is letting me borrow his. I think the class will be alright.

So that was my day at school. After I hung out at home for a while, I went back out into the world and bought a few things at Target. Then I went to the mall on a whim and found a ton of things on sale. I bought my first ever push-up bra at Victoria's ('tis v. v. sexy, hehe) and they also had undies on sale. I bought a $50 pair of pants at The Gap on sale for $20, and a $25 dollar shirt for $10. I think I did alright.

Last night I was really lonely for some reason. And surprisingly, it wasn't Cookie I was missing (although I do miss him everytime we're apart), it was Mark and Bren. Megan, too, even though she's not leaving till Sunday. We're having a movie night Saturday so we can all get together before she leaves. I just love it when everyone is here and we can all hang out together. I feel really happy when I'm with all of them because I've never really had a big group of friends like that. I mean, I've had the most rockin' best friend my entire life, but never a group. Now I have a group, but a lot of them don't even live here. It's bumming me out hardcore.

Megan just called me and she invited me to go to a movie with her, Casey, and Brendan P. (not the one who's in the Navy). Yay! Something to do. Plus I don't have to worry about staying out late because Ping cancelled tomorrow's class. Mreh heh. So... I guess that's about it for today. Later!



Previous + Next