Navigation:

+ Current entry
+ Older entries
+ Cast
+ Profile
+ Notes
+ Guestbook
+ Email
+ Rings
+ Pictures
+ Diaryland

Last 5 entries:

+ MySpace
+ Where is your heart?
+ In your face, Underwood
+ So excited!
+ Greek Gods Never Die
When Stress Relief Turns Into Stress
Thursday, Dec. 09, 2004

I'm so upset right now. I can't believe I'm actually crying over this, but I'm so frustrated that I just can't help it. This whole situation with the new Mandarin YD studio is getting out of hand. The space is way too small. The thing about it is that it's not really a problem when you have people who know how to stagger themselves so as not to bump into anyone around them, but when you have incompetent people who could care less, it becomes a big problem.

Tuesday night and tonight I came out of class feeling stressed and on the verge of tears because I was so frustrated. Both nights I had people position themselves so close to me that I kept getting kicked in the face. Tonight I couldn't even do my sun salutations and certain postures properly because the guy in front of me was on my mat most of the time. I mean, have a little consideration for those around you.

I think I'm a pretty patient person. But there are people out there who are not as patient as I, and they will leave. I've heard people talking amongst themselves about how crowded it gets, and I can hear it in their voices how angry they're getting. Tonight my mom was even talking about trying different studios because things are getting ridiculous. "Maybe it's just time for a change, Erin." But I don't want a change.

I love Alyson and Chet, but sometimes I wonder what in the world they're thinking. I mean, they moved from the old studio to this new one because rent was cheeper, and the building had such potential. Then they claim that they don't have enough money to get the wall knocked out yet (it's a support bearing wall and they'd have to hire someone to do it). But just a couple days ago I come to find out that they bought Bridges to Health, a studio in Ponte Vedra. Ummm... what?

It just doesn't make any sense. They aren't doing much to advertise the Southside studio, and the classes certainly aren't growing there. Then they decide move the Mandarin studio to a new (and smaller) space, and then they go and buy a new place, when neither of the other studios are completely squared away. I can't imagine what made them do that. I don't mean to complain, and I've tried not to for a while now, but I'm not shellin' out $80 a month to come home pissed off and upset after my yoga class.

And another thing, they haven't exactly treated my mom very well since she's been teaching for them. Chet said he would be there for every one of her classes to help her get the computer set up, but has he kept that promise? Of course not. Not only that, but the SS studio is in kind of a junky area, and it's really creepy at night, especially if you're there alone.

When my mom told them that she wasn't going to be able to teach anymore (it was just way too much with her 40 hour work week, plus getting in her own practice, and having a life...) they said they'd find her a replacement ASAP. A month and a half later, they still hadn't. That was when she put her foot down. She was so angry and upset that she didn't go to their teacher training graduation last weekend. That's when Alyson knew she wasn't playing, and they found a relacement the next day.

I know I sound like a baby, and I should just get over it. Besides, the real yoga is what you take away from your physical practice to use mentally in your daily life. It's what you use to deal with stressful situations in the real world, and it's what helps you overcome tough times. Right now it just doesn't feel like enough.


Previous + Next